Battle of alberta

By: Baxter

           For the first time since 1991, the Edmonton Oilers and the Calgary Flames have matched up
once again in the playoff series known as the Battle of Alberta. These two Canadian teams have
brought forward arguably the most exciting series in the second round of the 2022 NHL Playoffs.
During last night’s Game 5 in Calgary a new playoff record was broken. With four combined
goals in the span of 1 minute and 11 seconds, Zach Hyman, Johnny Gaudreau, Calle Jarnkok,
and Evan Buchard collectively broke the previous fastest four which was previously held by the
Toronto Maple Leafs and the Philadelphia Flyers who did it in 1:33 during their 1976 series.
With the series at 3-1 in favor of the Oilers, a late disallowed goal sent the matchup to overtime.
With about 6 minutes left in the third period, Blake Coleman scored to give the Flames the 5-4
lead, but upon further review it was determined he illegally kicked it past the goal line. At 5:03
into the OT period, Edmonton captain Connor McDavid, ripped the puck into the back of the net
advancing his team to the conference final.
McDavid and the Oilers awate a Round 3 matchup against the winner of the St. Louis Blues and
the Colorado Avalanche

The Battle of Alberta

Copyright © 2021 Six Pack Coverage, all rights reserved. | Franklin, TN 37064

Scroll to Top